Back to Blog

OPALCO Election Open; Annual Meeting on Saturday, May 3rd

Our member-owned electric cooperative is holding its annual meeting and election for the Board of Directors. This is every members’ opportunity to influence who sets our co-op policies and rates. Every OPALCO member has the right to vote in each election– regardless of their home district. In this election, there are six candidates running for two open positions in District 1 (San Juan, Pearl, Henry, Brown and Spieden islands) and, in addition, two member-initiated bylaw amendments. Ballots arrived by mail this week; members can vote online, by mail or at the Annual Meeting on Saturday, May 3rd. Six members who vote by absentee ballot will be rewarded with $50 bill credits.

Candidates for the Board are nominated by committee or by petition. The 2014 candidates nominated by committee are: Vince Dauciunas (incumbent), Glenna Hall (incumbent), Bryan Hoyer, Doug Rowan and John Sheehan. The 2014 candidate nominated by petition is Steve Hudson. Note: Don Galt, Sr. was also nominated by petition, but withdrew from the election. Candidate bios were sent by mail to each co-op member with their ballot booklet and are available online at

Members and their families who attend the 77th Annual Meeting on the ferry will be treated to a healthy and delicious lunch, catered by The Galley of Lopez Island. Every member will receive an energy savings backpack with LED bulbs included – and has a chance to win one of more than fifty fabulous door prizes, such as power and garden tools, gift certificates, kitchen tools and appliances, camping and sporting equipment, OPALCO bill credits, art, and merchandise from local businesses. Every member who attends will receive a $5 credit on their next bill (one credit per membership).

The annual meeting begins at 9:45 a.m. on the ferry. Members should arrive earlier than their boarding time to park and register for the meeting. Boarding times for each island are as follows:

  • San Juan Island: 7:15 a.m. – Charter boats at Spring Street Landing
    Please call 376-3549 to reserve your space on the charter boats as space is limited
  • Orcas Island: 8:45 a.m.
  • Shaw Island: 9:00 a.m.
  • Lopez Island: 9:30 a.m.

Members who are disabled or required special accommodations to participate in the meeting should call Bev Madan at 376-3549 to make arrangements. Full travel details here.

Why does OPALCO hold an annual meeting? The annual meeting meets requirements of the Co-op’s bylaws and the federal government (USDA/Rural Utilities Service). The agenda for the 77th Annual Meeting is:

  • Introductions (Board, Candidates, Special Guests)
  • State of the Co-op, Chris Thomerson – Board President
  • Special Guests (TBD)
  • Nourdine Jensen Cooperative Youth Scholarship Awards
  • General Manager’s Report, Randy J. Cornelius
  • Co-op Safety Award – Tim Savage, Journeyman Lineman
  • Assistant Manager’s Report, Foster Hildreth
  • Absentee Voter Rewards – Six members drawn randomly from absentee ballots for $50 bill credits
  • Election Results
  • Q&A with the Management Team
  • Door Prizes


You may also like...

solar shed

Calling All San Juan County Business Owners!

Now’s the time to Energize your Business with Powerful Incentives! OPALCO has been awarded grants funds to help business owners become more energy efficient. We are partnered with Sustainable Connections … Read more

New Annual Member Festival a Huge Success!

Hiester and Osterman Win Seats in OPALCO 2024 Board Election On Thursday April 25, at the OPALCO Business Annual Meeting, Rick Fant of the OPALCO Election and Governance Committee announced … Read more

Quick Fact: Rooftop Solar and Our Local Energy Future

Rooftop Solar and Our Local Energy Future Washington State is pushing hard to remove carbon emissions from our daily lives –  decommissioning coal plants and electrifying heating and transportation (including … Read more