The governing board of Orcas Power & Light Cooperative (OPALCO) consists of seven directors from four districts who are elected for three-year terms, with the elections staggered. Each director is elected by a vote of OPALCO members, or appointed by the Board to fill out vacancies. All members may vote in every election, regardless of their home district.


  • District 1 (San Juan, Brown, Henry, Pearl and Spieden islands)
  • District 2 (Orcas, Armitage, Big Double, Blakely, Fawn, Little Double and Obstruction islands)
  • District 3 (Lopez, Decatur, Center and Charles islands)
  • District 4 (Shaw, Bell, Canoe and Crane islands)


To be eligible to be a Co-op Board director, members petitioning for or submitting for Board candidacy must meet the following criteria established in OPALCO Bylaws: Article III Directors Section 2 Qualifications. Please read the full qualifications and conflict of interest policies. In brief:

  • A director candidate shall be a resident of the OPALCO District he or she is seeking to represent.
  • A director candidate must complete an Director Candidates Disclosure Statement to determine eligibility.

Nomination Process

There are two ways to be nominated for the Board of Directors. Any qualified member (see above) may submit their nomination through our nominations portal (new in 2017). The volunteer Elections & Governance Committee will review the nominations and recommend a slate of candidates for Board approval. Alternatively, candidates may submit a petition with no fewer than 20 signatures of members who reside in their district. Complete petitions should be sent to The deadlines for 2017 are as follows:

  1. Nominations by Committee: February 18
  2. Nominations by Petition: March 12

See the OPALCO Bylaws and Amendments.

Use the new nominations portal to submit a nomination for the Board election.