Board of Directors

The Cooperative is governed by its member-owners who elect a seven-member Board of Directors. There are four districts represented, and Directors must be members in the districts they serve. Elections are held by district on a rotating basis each year at the annual meeting. Every member gets one vote in every election regardless of their home district. Directors serve a three-year term and there are no term limits. Board meetings are held monthly and are open to co-op members. Notices of each meeting are posted in the local papers and on the Home page of the Opalco website.

The Board operates under the Mission and Values StatementBoard Policy #1, Board Strategic Directives (Jan 2015) and Broadband Directives (11/21/13).

For a full archive of governing, financial and strategic documents, please go to Find Documents.

Current Directors are:

District 1: San Juan, Brown, Henry, Pearl and Spieden Islands

Vince Dauciunas Vince Dauciunas
Dauciunas holds Bachelors and Masters Degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Notre Dame and UC Berkeley. He worked at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Hewlett Packard and Agilent Technologies in R&D, general management, and business development. He and his wife Vikky have been residents of San Juan Island since 2002.

Mark Madsen - photo to comMark Madsen
Madsen earned his undergraduate degree at the University of Washington and a Masters in Anthropology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He currently serves the community through the San Juan Library District, San Juan County Economic Development Council and the Town of Friday Harbor’s Lodging Tax Advisory Committee. Mark was appointed in September 2015 to fill a board vacancy.

District 2: Orcas, Armitage, Big Double, Blakely, Fawn, Little Double and Obstructions Islands

Randy Cornelius 72Randy J. Cornelius
Randy has a passion for electric utilities and cooperatives that began when he was a teenager working in a warehouse for an electrical contractor. At age 22, he became a journeyman lineman working for various utilities and contractors until 1983. He then attended Oregon State University earning a BS degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

Shortly after graduation, he moved to Sitka, Alaska where he accepted the position of Engineer & Supervisor of Generation. Soon he was promoted to Electric Utility Director. Then in 2002, Randy and his wife moved to Orcas Island and Randy took the role of General Manager of OPALCO until his retirement in January 2015. He has served on many boards; Alaska Rural Electric Association, Washington Rural Electric Association, Northwest Public Power Association and on the executive committee as vice president for Northwest Requirements Utilities (NRU).

Winnie AdamsWinnie Adams
Adams graduated from Stanford School of Education with a Masters degree. Winnie is retired from a career in teaching including service as an environmental educator at the Yosemite Institute. In 1977, she moved to Waldron Island where she built a small house powered by solar energy. In 1990, Winnie and her husband Bob Gamble moved to Orcas and began living part time on the grid. Adams was appointed to serve out Roger Crosby’s term in April, 2010 before her reelection to the Board in 2015.

District 3: Lopez, Decatur, Center and Charles Islands

Bob MyhrBob Myhr, Vice President
Bob served on the San Juan County Council, 2005-2010, and was executive director of the San Juan Preservation Trust from 1985 to 2002. Prior to becoming a full-time resident in the islands, he held an executive position in the forest products industry and taught at the University of Washington. He holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from Amherst College and PhD from Columbia University. An OPALCO member since 1967, Bob and his wife Joyce live on Lopez. Bob was first elected to the board in 1986.

Jim LettJim Lett, President
Jim has served as an OPALCO Director since 2009 and has completed the coursework for the National Rural Electric Association and received Credentialed Director Certification. Jim is a graduate of Oklahoma State University and has an
honorable discharge from the U.S. Marine Corps Reserve. His career spanned 35 years with a national insurance carrier, including as Director of Loss Control, Underwriting Vice President for Commercial Insurance, Marketing, and Reinsurance. He also served on the Business School Advisory Board for Washington State University for several years. Jim and his wife Shanley are natives of Washington and have lived on Lopez Island for nearly 20 years. Since retiring, Jim has been an active member of the community, participating in the Mentor Program of the Family Resource Center and at Lopez Children’s Center.  He is past chairman of the Lopez Library Board, is twice past Commodore of the Lopez Island Yacht Club, served as the business representative on the San Juan County Salary Commission, and is the current chairman of the Board of Commissioners of San Juan Fire District #4.

District 4: Shaw, Bell, Canoe and Crane Islands

Dr. Jerry WhitfieldDr. Jerry Whitfield, Secretary/Treasurer
Dr. Whitfield and his wife Carol live on Shaw Island and have been OPALCO members since 1999. As a Doctorate Aerospace Engineer, Whitfield has served with such companies as Rolls Royce Aero Engines, General Electric Company and The Boeing Company. An entrepreneur in the renewable energy field since the mid-1980s, Whitfield invented the wood pellet stove, built and led a successful manufacturing company and helped pioneer the wood pellet industry across North America. Lately, Whitfield invented a unique café coffee roaster, Sonofresco; he and his wife run the business in Burlington, WA. Whitfield is also developing product ideas to simultaneously generate carbon negative energy and biochar from surplus biomass materials. Dr. Whitfield was appointed by the Board in March, 2014 to fill a Board vacancy.