## **ORCAS POWER & LIGHT COOPERATIVE** MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING April 13, 2019

President Vince Dauciunas called the 82<sup>nd</sup> Annual Membership Meeting to order at 10:10 a.m. aboard the interisland ferry, the MV Tillikum.

A quorum was met with ~17.2% of the membership casting ballots. A total of 1,948 ballots.

President Dauciunas welcomed members and guests, thanking the caterers who provided lunches at the three main ferry docks: The Market Chef, San Juan Island; Lopez Market, Lopez Island; and Avenue Catering, Orcas Island. Dauciunas also thanks special guests including Anita Decker, NWPPA; Andrew Barter, PNGC; Melanie Jackson, BPA; Kurt Miller, Northwest River Partners; Gerry Lawlor, T-Mobile; Ryan Palmateer, San Juan Islands Conservation District; Eddie Jackson, Brown & Kysar; Jeff Lindgren, Eaton; Matt Holzer, Anixter; SewNSew Embroidery and the crew of the Tillikum were thanked for their participation in the meeting. Also attending was past Director Jim Lett.

- Motion was made and seconded to waive the reading of the Official Notice of the Meeting; motion carried.
- Motion was made and seconded to waive the reading of the Minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting; motion carried.
- Motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting; motion carried.

Dauciunas then introduced the current Board of Directors: District 1 Mark Madsen and Vince Dauciunas (President); District 2 Rick Christmas and Jeffrey Struthers; District 3 Brian Silverstein (Secretary/Treasurer) and Peter Garlock and District 4 Dr. Jerry Whitfield (Vice-President). Parliamentarian Joel Paisner was also introduced.

Dauciunas spoke about the Board of Directors' two main functions: decision making and oversight. The Board's strategy is based on the Integrated Resource Plan (IRP), available on the website. It answers 1) how much electric power will we need in the future; 2) where will we get it; 3) how much will we pay for it; and 4) how will the price be determined? He spoke of the difference between 1958 and 2019 for determining future plans and how we get our power. The Board will spend a lot of time determining the answers to those questions and more in the upcoming months.

Dauciunas introduced the Elections and Governance Committee (EGC) members in attendance. Bill Severson, the Chair of the EGC introduced the 2019 candidates: For District 3, Peter Garlock and Brian Silverstein. For District 4, Peter Hawkes and Dr. Jerry Whitfield.

Results of the election are as follows:

Brian Silverstein District 3: 1,661 votes

> Peter Garlock 1,264 votes

District 4 Dr. Jerry Whitfield 1,328 votes

> Peter Hawkes 511 votes

General Manager Hildreth spoke of the vision for the future of our island communities plus a strong foundation for our electric and fiber systems.

The meeting adjourned at 10:55 a.m.

DocuSigned by:

Bn Streete Vince Dauciunas Vince Dauciunas, President Brian Silverstein, Secretary-Treasurer