## **ORCAS POWER & LIGHT COOPERATIVE**

## MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING

## May 6, 2017

Vice-President Vince Dauciunas called the 80<sup>th</sup> Annual Membership Meeting to order at 9:45 a.m. aboard the MV Yakima.

A quorum was met with 173 members in attendance and 269 attendees.

President Dauciunas welcomed members and guests, thanking Avenue Catering, SewNSew Embroidery and the crew of the Yakima for their participation in the meeting.

- **Motion** was made and seconded to waive the reading of the Official Notice of the Meeting; motion carried.
- **Motion** was made and seconded to waive the reading of the Minutes of the 2016 Annual Meeting; motion carried.
- **Motion** was made and seconded to approve the minutes of the 2016 Annual Meeting; motion carried.

Dauciunas then introduced the current Board of Directors: District 1 Mark Madsen and Vince Dauciunas (President); District 2 Winnie Adams (Secretary) and Randy Cornelius; District 3 Jim Lett and Brian Silverstein and District 4 Dr. Jerry Whitfield (Vice-President). Parliamentarian Joel Paisner and Tally Chair Doug Pearson were also introduced. Special guests included BPA Senior Account Executive Marcus Perry, BPA Transmission Account Executive Melanie Jackson and PNGC President and CEO Beth Looney.

President Dauciunas spoke about OPALCO's Integrated Resource Plan and its key components: 1) grid modernization, a major portion of which will be complete by year's end; 2) future power supply, of which we are part of an incremental revolution in the power industry aimed at securing clean, efficient and more environmentally sustainable energy to meet OPALCO's needs to years to come. Emerging technologies like tidal generators, new storage batteries and electric vehicles will undoubtedly join solar and wind generation. 3) Concern for community, one of the seven cooperative principles, underlies every decision made by the Board of Directors. A two-year rates review will assure that each member pays their fair share but also includes solutions for members with fixed or low incomes.

The seventh annual Nourdine Jensen Cooperative Youth Scholarship Awards were presented with the announcement that the Jensen family has matched the \$500 scholarship amount so that the total is now \$1,000. Recipients include Zach Fincher (Friday Harbor HS), Joanne Mietzner (Orcas HS), Jonathan Doherty (Lopez HS) and Jayna Ott (Friday Harbor HS). Haley Moss (Orcas High School) was unable to attend. Each will receive a \$1,000 scholarship and a week at the Youth Rally leadership camp at the College of Idaho.

Elections and Governance Committee (EGC) chair Doug Marshall introduced the EGC members Beverly Leyman and Howard Barbour; not in attendance were members Chom Greacen and Rob Thesman. The District 1 candidates Vince Dauciunas, Mark Madsen and William Severson were then introduced. Results for the two open seats were:

Total
1,467
1,339
901

A total of 1,981 valid ballots were cast.

General Manager Hildreth reported that by year's end OPALCO will have replaced one of our most important and most challenging electric submarine cables -- Lopez to San Juan Island; continue with our complex fiber optic and wireless communication system and provide internet service through Rock Island Communication, our wholly owned subsidiary. In addition, OPALCO has replaced 40 miles of aging underground conductors in the past three years; provided \$144,000 in energy efficiency rebates through BPA; and initiated a new Energy Assistance Program to help members in need.

Eight \$80 power bill credits were randomly selected and awarded to members who voted: Barbara Brown, Orcas; Christene Noll, San Juan; Laura & Paul Roberts, San Juan; Madrona Murphy, Lopez; Mark Cohen & Eleanor Hoague, Orcas; Tom & Kathleen Roosma, Orcas; Anne Pallinger, San Juan; and Penelope Gilde, Lopez.

The meeting adjourned at 10:55 a.m.

DAW MAD Vince Dauciunas, President

Jerry Whitfield, Secretary